Grand Teton RV Camping: Length Limits by Campground

Boats tied up at the Colter Bay marina dock on Jackson Lake with the snow-streaked Teton Range behind
Photo: inkknife_2000 / CC BY-SA 2.0, via Wikimedia Commons
In this guide
  1. The campgrounds at a glance
  2. Gros Ventre: the big-rig default
  3. Signal Mountain: the 30-foot lake campground
  4. Colter Bay Campground and Colter Bay RV Park
  5. Lizard Creek: small rigs, late season
  6. Headwaters at Flagg Ranch: full hookups between the parks
  7. Jenny Lake: not for you
  8. How booking works
  9. Which campground for which rig
  10. Mistakes to avoid
  11. When to go and how long

Grand Teton is one of the easier big-mountain parks for an RV. Four campgrounds accept rigs up to 45 feet (counted as RV plus tow vehicle), two of them have full hookups, and every site in the park is reservable on Recreation.gov six months out, so there is no first-come scramble. The catches are the ones that trip people up elsewhere: the 45-foot figure is a combined length, Signal Mountain and the Colter Bay back-ins stop at 30 feet, Lizard Creek is really a 25-foot campground, and the premium sites vanish within minutes of the booking window opening.

This guide goes campground by campground with the length limit, hookups, generator loops, dump stations and 2026 season dates, all from the NPS camping page, the NPS operating-dates page and the Recreation.gov facility listings, read in October 2026. Then it covers how booking works, which campground suits which rig, and the mistakes that cost people their site.

The campgrounds at a glance

CampgroundMax length (RV + tow vehicle)HookupsDump station2026 season (NPS)Sites
Gros Ventre45 ft39 electric-only sitesYes (limited use)Apr 27 - Oct 10279 standard + 39 electric + 4 group
Jenny LakeTents onlyNoneNoMay 2 - Sep 2751 + 10 hiker/biker
Signal Mountain30 ftAbout 25 sites, 30 and 50 ampYesMay 8 - Oct 11About 80
Colter Bay Campground45 ft; sites vary13 electric ADA sitesYes, with potable water fillMay 21 - Sep 27324 standard + 13 electric + 10 group + 10 hiker/biker
Colter Bay RV Park45 ft pull-through, 30 ft back-inFull (sewer, water, 20/30/50 amp), 112 sitesNot listedMay 4 - Oct 10102 pull-through + 10 back-in
Lizard Creek25 ft (Recreation.gov); NPS page says 30 ftNoneNot listedJun 12 - Sep 1360, nearly half walk-in tent
Headwaters at Flagg Ranch (Rockefeller Parkway)45 ftFull (sewer, water, 20/30/50 amp), 97 pull-throughNot listedJun 7 - Oct 434 tent + 97 RV + 40 camper cabins

Sources: NPS camping page and operating dates page; Recreation.gov facility listings, October 2026. Dates are subject to change and the 2027 calendar was not yet posted.

The NPS states the length limits as the total for one RV and one tow vehicle in a back-in space. A 32-foot travel trailer behind a 20-foot crew-cab pickup is a 52-foot combination and does not fit a 45-foot site unless the truck can park elsewhere at that site, which Recreation.gov listings say must fit on the pad or the trailer must be unhitched. Check the “driveway length” field on each site before you book; it is the number that governs.

Log campground office at Gros Ventre Campground with a red SUV towing a white travel trailer parked beside it under bare cottonwoods
The Gros Ventre Campground office; sites here take combined rigs up to 45 feet. Photo: GrandTetonNPS / Public domain, via Wikimedia Commons

Gros Ventre: the big-rig default

Gros Ventre sits in the cottonwoods along the Gros Ventre River at the southeast corner of the park, about 20 minutes from Jackson and a short drive from the Mormon Row barns and Antelope Flats, where bison and moose are common. It is the park’s largest campground and, per the concessioner, the first to open and last to close.

  • Length: Recreation.gov lists a maximum combined length of 45 feet for the RV and tow vehicle in back-in sites; the listing metadata shows 50 feet, so some pads are longer. Pull-through gravel sites exist.
  • Hookups: 39 electric-only sites, 10 of them ADA-accessible. Amperage is not stated in the listings; bring a 30-amp adapter and a surge protector either way.
  • Water and dump: potable water at each comfort station rather than at the site; two dump stations across from the office cabin at the entrance. The NPS calls the dump station limited-use.
  • Generators: loops A, B, C and the East Corridor only, outside the 10 pm to 8 am quiet hours.
  • Fees: Recreation.gov did not show individual nightly rates in its listing text as of October 2026; the range displayed ($59 to $750) includes group sites. Expect the standard site to be in the $50 to $70 range and electric sites more, and confirm at checkout.

Who it suits: anyone with a rig over 30 feet who does not need full hookups, and anyone who wants to be close to Jackson for resupply.

Signal Mountain: the 30-foot lake campground

Signal Mountain Campground sits on the southeast shore of Jackson Lake near the lodge, marina and a small store, with pay showers and laundry nearby. It is the most scenic drive-in campground that takes RVs, and the most size-restricted.

  • Length: “The maximum length for a trailer or RV is 30 feet,” per Recreation.gov. That is the trailer or motorhome itself; the pad still has to take the tow vehicle.
  • Hookups: 24 or 25 sites with 30- and 50-amp electric (the NPS page says 25, the Recreation.gov facilities text says 24).
  • Dump station: yes.
  • Generators: loops 1 and 2, 8 am to 8 pm, never unattended; prohibited at all times in loop 3 (sites 65 to 86).
  • Booking: six-month window with a sliding allowance of up to seven days beyond it; 14-night maximum.

Who it suits: Class B and C owners, truck campers, and trailers under 30 feet who want lake access and a view. A 32-foot Class A should not try.

Colter Bay Campground and Colter Bay RV Park

Colter Bay is the park’s hub on the north end of Jackson Lake: visitor center, grocery, gift shop, restaurants, laundry and showers, and two separate camping operations with different rules.

Colter Bay Campground is the big one, with 338 individual sites per Recreation.gov (the NPS counts 324 standard plus 13 electric ADA sites and 10 group sites). The NPS lists a 45-foot limit, but Recreation.gov says RV sites are of various sizes and tells you to look at the individual site specification before booking, with tow vehicles counted. It has a free dump station and potable water fill. Generators are allowed in loops H, J, K, M, O and the group sites between 6 am and 10 pm, a wider window than anywhere else in the park. Electric hookups are only on the 13 ADA sites.

Colter Bay RV Park is the only full-hookup campground inside Grand Teton proper. Recreation.gov lists 112 full-hookup sites with sewer, water and 20-, 30- and 50-amp outlets: pull-throughs up to 45 feet total including the tow vehicle, back-ins up to 30 feet. There are no fire grates, generators are never permitted, and quiet hours run 10 pm to 8 am. The park notes the Colter Bay marina is closed for the 2026 season. Nightly rates were not exposed in the listing text; a utility “premium fee” is folded into the price. If you want 50-amp service and a sewer connection with the Tetons out the window, this is it, and it is the hardest booking in the park. Set an alarm for 8 am Mountain Time on the day six months before your arrival; our Recreation.gov reservations guide walks through the mechanics.

Wooden Gros Ventre Campground entrance sign hanging from a log post above sagebrush flats
Gros Ventre is the park's largest campground and usually the first to open in spring. Photo: GrandTetonNPS / Public domain, via Wikimedia Commons

Lizard Creek: small rigs, late season

Lizard Creek is a quiet 60-site campground on the northern shore of Jackson Lake, nearly half of it walk-in tent sites. Recreation.gov states a 25-foot maximum for an RV or trailer, and requires the whole tow-vehicle-and-trailer combination to fit on the pad or be unhitched; the NPS camping page lists 30 feet. Use the lower figure. There are no hookups, generators are allowed only in the first loop (sites 48 to 63) from 8 am to 8 pm, and the nightly rate was listed at $53 in October 2026. It is normally the last campground to open and the first to close; in 2026 that was June 12 to September 13.

Headwaters at Flagg Ranch: full hookups between the parks

Headwaters Campground is in the John D. Rockefeller, Jr. Memorial Parkway, the strip of federal land linking Grand Teton’s north boundary to Yellowstone’s South Entrance, and is booked through the same Recreation.gov system. It has 34 tent sites, 97 full-hookup pull-through RV sites with 20-, 30- and 50-amp electric, sewer and water, and 40 camper cabins. The limit is 45 feet total length for one RV and one tow vehicle. Showers are included, propane is sold at the office, and the listing showed nightly rates from $61 to $125 in October 2026. The 2026 season was June 7 to October 4, staffed June 1 to September 30.

Who it suits: anyone combining the two parks. From Headwaters it is about 30 minutes to Yellowstone’s West Thumb and about 35 minutes south to Colter Bay, and the full hookups make it a good base between no-hookup stints in Yellowstone. Our Yellowstone RV campgrounds guide covers the other side of the boundary.

Also in the Parkway: the NPS lists 14 free, first-come, first-served sites along Grassy Lake Road, no water, shared vault toilets and bear boxes, open once the road opens in mid-June. It is a rough road best left to small, high-clearance rigs.

Jenny Lake: not for you

Jenny Lake Campground is tents only, with a seven-day limit, and the NPS table shows no RV length because none are allowed. Drive there for the lake and the Cascade Canyon boat shuttle; camp elsewhere. For the pattern across the system, see our list of national park campgrounds that take no RVs.

How booking works

Every campground in the park is reservation-only on Recreation.gov, and the concessioner’s own site states plainly that reservations cannot be made through its website or call center. Windows open on a six-month rolling basis: a July 15 arrival opens January 15. Stay limits are 14 nights per campground (7 at Jenny Lake) and 30 nights per year in the park. Check-in is noon, check-out 11 am. Recreation.gov charges a $10 fee to change dates outside the original reservation, $10 to cancel, and $20 for a no-show; a reservation that extends beyond the booking window cannot be altered until 18 days after it was made.

The park entrance fee is separate: $35 per private vehicle for seven days, $70 for the Grand Teton annual pass, $80 for the America the Beautiful pass, and an extra $100 per person for non-US residents aged 16 and over unless they hold an annual pass, per the NPS fees page in October 2026. If Yellowstone is on the same trip the America the Beautiful pass is the obvious buy.

Which campground for which rig

Your rigBookAvoid
Class A or fifth wheel, 36-45 ft combined, want hookupsColter Bay RV Park pull-through, or HeadwatersSignal Mountain, Lizard Creek, Colter Bay RV back-ins
Same rig, no hookups neededGros Ventre, Colter Bay Campground (check pad length)As above
Class C or trailer 25-30 ftSignal Mountain for the lake, Gros Ventre for space, Colter Bay RV back-in for hookupsLizard Creek if over 25 ft
Class B, truck camper, small trailerAnywhere that takes RVs; Lizard Creek for quietNothing on length; Jenny Lake is tents only
Need a generator dailyGros Ventre loops A-C, Colter Bay Campground loops H/J/K/M/OColter Bay RV Park (banned), Signal Mountain loop 3

Mistakes to avoid

  • Booking a 45-foot site for a 45-foot motorhome that tows. The limit is the combination. If you flat-tow a car, add its length.
  • Assuming “electric site” means 50 amp. Signal Mountain lists 30 and 50; Gros Ventre does not state amperage. Carry adapters and a surge protector; the sister site explains why a surge protector matters on campground pedestals.
  • Planning a generator at Colter Bay RV Park. Never permitted, at any hour. You have full hookups, so you do not need one.
  • Arriving at Lizard Creek or Headwaters in early June. Both open later than the rest of the park; Lizard Creek opened June 12 in 2026.
  • Trying to call the lodge company. They will send you to Recreation.gov.

When to go and how long

Late June through mid-September is the full-service window, when every campground is open and the Teton Park Road (open May 1 to October 31 in 2026) gives access to Jenny Lake and Signal Mountain Summit Road. Gros Ventre and Colter Bay RV Park bracket the season from early May to mid-October, which makes them the choice for shoulder-season trips with cold nights and far fewer people. Three nights is a reasonable minimum: one for the Jenny Lake and Cascade Canyon side, one for the Jackson Lake north end, one for Antelope Flats and the Snake River overlooks at dawn. Pair it with Yellowstone and Headwaters becomes the natural midpoint.

Before you tow in, one last check against the system-wide picture: nothing in Grand Teton restricts road access by vehicle size the way Zion or Glacier do, but the campground pads are firm limits. Our national park RV size limits guide compares the two kinds of restriction park by park.

Frequently asked questions

Which Grand Teton campground has full hookups?

Two do. Colter Bay RV Park, on Jackson Lake inside the park, has 112 full-hookup sites with sewer, water and 20-, 30- and 50-amp electric; pull-through sites take rigs up to 45 feet total including the tow vehicle, back-in sites up to 30 feet. Headwaters Campground at Flagg Ranch, in the John D. Rockefeller, Jr. Memorial Parkway between Grand Teton and Yellowstone, has 97 full-hookup pull-through sites with the same amperage choices and a 45-foot total length limit. Gros Ventre, Signal Mountain and Colter Bay Campground have a smaller number of electric-only sites.

What is the maximum RV length in Grand Teton National Park?

The largest published limit is 45 feet, and the National Park Service applies it to the RV and tow vehicle combined. Gros Ventre, Colter Bay Campground, Colter Bay RV Park pull-throughs and Headwaters all list 45 feet. Signal Mountain and Colter Bay RV Park back-in sites are capped at 30 feet. Lizard Creek is listed at 25 feet on Recreation.gov and 30 feet on the NPS camping page; plan on 25. Jenny Lake is tents only. Individual sites vary, so check the pad length on the Recreation.gov site page before you book.

Can you reserve Grand Teton campgrounds through the lodge company?

No. Every campground in Grand Teton and the Rockefeller Parkway is reservation-only and booked on Recreation.gov on a six-month rolling basis, so a June 1 arrival opens on December 1. Grand Teton Lodge Company operates most of the campgrounds but states that reservations cannot be made through its website or call center. Maximum stay is 14 nights per campground (7 at Jenny Lake) and 30 nights per year in the park.

When are Grand Teton campgrounds open?

For 2026 the NPS listed Gros Ventre April 27 to October 10, Colter Bay RV Park May 4 to October 10, Signal Mountain May 8 to October 11, Colter Bay Campground May 21 to September 27, Headwaters June 7 to October 4, Lizard Creek June 12 to September 13 and Jenny Lake May 2 to September 27. Dates change year to year and with snow; the 2027 calendar had not been published as of October 2026.

Can you run a generator in Grand Teton campgrounds?

Only in designated loops and hours, and never at Colter Bay RV Park. Gros Ventre allows generators in loops A, B, C and the East Corridor outside quiet hours (10 pm to 8 am). Signal Mountain allows them in loops 1 and 2 from 8 am to 8 pm and bans them in loop 3. Colter Bay Campground allows them in loops H, J, K, M, O and group sites from 6 am to 10 pm. Lizard Creek allows them in the first loop, sites 48 to 63, from 8 am to 8 pm. Pick your loop with this in mind if you depend on a generator.

  • Acadia RV Camping Including Schoodic Woods

    Acadia RV camping: Blackwoods and Seawall's 35-foot sites, Schoodic Woods' electric loop for rigs to 70 feet, Park Loop Road bridge heights and the Cadillac rule.

    Updated Oct 2026
  • Arches and Moab RV Camping: Where Rigs Actually Fit

    Arches and Moab RV camping: Devils Garden's per-site limits up to 40 feet, no timed entry in 2026, $20 BLM campgrounds, Dead Horse Point hookups and where to dump.

    Updated Oct 2026
  • Bryce Canyon RV Camping and Size Limits

    Bryce Canyon RV camping: which North and Sunset loops take RVs, per-site lengths, the free dump station, the 23-foot parking rule, Ruby's Inn hookups and Red Canyon.

    Updated Oct 2026